by:   6/7/2017

WASHINGTON, D.C. –The District of Columbia State Athletic Association on Thursday, June 8, will induct 10 men and women into the newly created DCSAA High School Hall of Fame. This will occur at the DC Office of Cable Television, Film, Music and Entertainment, 1899 9th Street NE.

There will be a reception beginning at 5:30 p.m. and the induction ceremony will be filmed live to tape beginning at 6:30 p.m.

The Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Elgin Baylor: Legendary player named one of the 50 greatest players in NBA history. Went to Phelps
  • Allen Chin: Longtime high school sports administrator, first at his alma mater, Anacostia High, and subsequently as DCPS/DCIAA director of athletics
  • Mason Clark: More than half century of service to youth sports; co-founder of Pioneer Athletic Club, today known as Woodridge Warriors
  • Maurice “Maus” Collins: Retired as the ninth-winningest high school football coach, with record of 322-74-9 and 16 league titles over 39 seasons at Carroll and Gonzaga
  • Adrian Dixon: Longtime Coolidge track and field coach molded several top athletes
  • Al Forman: Served as Eastern Board of Officials commissioner for more than 20 years
  • Bob Headen: One of Washington’s most successful coaches in football (eight DCPS titles) and girls basketball (17 DCPS titles)
  • Lucille Hester: One of the biggest advocates for Washington youth and amateur sports; longtime DCPS athletic director
  • Butch McAdams: Coached the Maret boys basketball team to 449 wins over 29 seasons and is known today as host of the In and Out of Sports on WOL radio
  • Wanda Oates: Best known for coaching the Ballou boys basketball team to 1991 DCIAA championships; guided the Ballou girls basketball team to 10 DCIAA titles in 13 seasons

Additionally, former DCPS athletics supervisor Vinna L. Freeman and former NFL referee Johnny Grier will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards.

To learn more about the District of Columbia State Athletic Association visit